2017 IEEE CS TCSE Awards

IEEE Computer Society TCSE Awards2017 2016  2015  2014  2013  2012  2011  2010

2017 IEEE CS TCSE Distinguished Synergy Award


IBM CAS, founded at the IBM Toronto Lab, has initiated and sustained software engineering research partnerships for over 25 years. Its steady efforts with the CASCON annual conference has fostered a large, diverse, and vibrant research community, leading to collaborative projects, innovative technology, joint publications, and influential consortia. These collective outcomes and individual perspectives are chronicled in a book that documents the lasting impact of the CAS ecosystem. This collaboration model has influenced not only the Canadian software research and industrial landscape, but has been adopted in many CAS centers around the world.

2017 IEEE CS TCSE Distinguished Service Award


Václav Rajlich

Wayne State University,
Detroit, USA

Not only a most active researcher in software evolution, Václav Rajlich founded the IEEE International Conference on Program Comprehension (ICPC) and pioneered the IEEE International Conference on Software Maintenance and Evolution (ICSME), two of the oldest conferences in their field, with high and continuing impact. He has served in many key roles within virtually all IEEE conferences in software maintenance and evolution. His sustained efforts in guiding the research community to focus on this highly practical area is an invaluable contribution to software engineering at large.

2017 IEEE CS TCSE Distinguished Education Award


David Garlan

Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, USA
David Garlan  led the evolution of the Carnegie Mellon University Master of Software Engineering program, which has become a significant influence in curriculum guidelines endorsed by ACM, IEEE CS, and INCOSE. This program is an international benchmark, inspiring many similar efforts. He established international partnerships with universities, industry, and governments for software engineering professional programs in India, South Korea, and Portugal. He developed exceptional materials for practicing professionals, and co-authored the outstanding works "Documenting Software Architecture: Views and Beyond" and "Software Architecture: Perspectives of an Emerging Discipline".

2017 IEEE CS TCSE Distinguished Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Leadership Award


Mary Shaw

Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, USA
Beyond Mary Shaw's sustained leadership and excellence in software engineering education over four decades, she has been an outstanding role model for women at all levels in science, engineering, and technology. Her keynotes at numerous events, such as at ICSE and the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, and her awards, including the US National Medal of Technology and Innovation and the George R. Stibitz Computer and Communications Pioneer Award, recognize her pioneering leadership in the field of software architecture.

Award presentations by Rick Kazman on May 25 at ICSE 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

To Vio Onut representing IBM CAS

To Václav Rajlich

To David Garlan